The Growth of… ?

Seed 
Sleeping
Shoot sprouting
Soaring skyward
Savoring sweet success

This Greek poetry form is called Rhopalic Verse and is Prompt #13 of the Around the World poetry challenge given to us by murisopsis. It’s a poem of unlimited length, where each line adds one syllable to the line before it. I kept mine short, but I remember writing an Etheree that was similar to this a few years ago. Murisopsis suggested a theme of growth for this prompt.

I can think of lots of things this poem could be about – perhaps the growth of hope, zeal, love, or joy. It could be about getting a promotion, winning the lottery, or sex. It could even be about a seed growing into a plant. The possibilities are as unlimited as the potential length of the poem.

As I was typing, I think it was a combination of “just a plant” and “hope” in my head. I always equate the two, especially in spring. It’s still early spring in Michigan, so each new shoot that sprouts and flower that blooms is cause for hope that soon the days will be sunny and warm, and we can put away our coats and gloves, and pull out our shorts and sandals.

What kind of growth is speaking to you through this poem?

3 thoughts on “The Growth of… ?

  1. As a Half Etheree, this one is good. Yet you and the rest of the WP poets counted syllables per line and increased the syllable count one per line – like an Etheree. But the Rhopalic Verse counts syllables per word in the line:

    A (1syllable) happy (2 syllables) chickadee (3 syllables) twitterpated (4 syllables)       

    With as many lines as you want but each word in each line has one more syllable the the previous word in that line! I’d love to see you do a real Rhopalic Verse!!

    Like

  2. I am enjoying my work at my job and it’s forcing me to learn new skills. So I guess growth in my skillset is where my focus went, though I will admit that the flowers were my first thought, too.

    Like

Leave a comment